Redmond’s Real Salt Review & Giveaway

I was recently given the opportunity to do a review on Redmond’s Real Salt.  Kimberly, over at Redmond Trading Company, was so sweet to send me not only their salt to try, but a full-size container of each of their seasonings as well.  Onion Salt, Garlic Salt and Seasoning Salt.

What is Real Salt?

Real Salt comes from an ancient sea bed in Central Utah.  It is brought to you in its natural state – without additives, chemicals or heat processing of any kind.  Real Salt’s pinkish appearance and flecks of color come from more than 60 naturally occurring trace minerals.

It is harvested about 300 feet below the surface of the earth.  They follow the veins of salt and harvest it by scraping the salt off the walls of the mine using carbide-tipped equipment.

Real Salt comes in 3 grades: fine, kosher and coarse.  It has a sweet salty flavor that is very complex from all the minerals.

Is Salt Really Bad for Me?

“Salt is – and always has been – essential for optimal health.  The human body is made up of 72% salt water and 28% mineral.  We need salt and minerals to survive.  It’s no wonder why, when admitted to any hospital, you are usually hooked up to an IV, which feeds saline solution (salt water) quickly into your body.  So the question is not, “Should I be eating salt?”  but rather, “What kind of salt should I be eating?”  Because of the additives and lack of trace minerals, most salts are not good for you.” ~ Redmond Trading Company brochure.

Table salt is a manufactured form of sodium called sodium chloride.  It is created by taking natural salt and cooking it at 1,200 degrees Fahrenheit.  Once the unprocessed salt is heated up to this temperature, it starts to lose the majority of the important elements that naturally occur.  Store-bought iodized salts have synthetic chemicals added to them, including everything from iodide, sodium bicarbonate, fluoride, anti-caking agents, toxic amounts of potassium iodide and aluminum derivatives.  It is white because they actually use bleach to make it look “clean”.

Natural salts are harvested with minimal processing,  Naturally occurring salt is not white due to the mineral content.

Here is a video introduction to Real Salt.  If you have a hard time viewing it within this blog post you can view it on their site here.


My Experience

I had never been a big salt user, because white “table salt” just doesn’t cut it for me.  And I guess somewhere in my mind I had given in to the hype about salt being bad for you.

But as soon I tasted Real Salt my world changed!  I am in love with salt now and add it to nearly everything.

The Seasoning Salt is particularly fabulous on steaks!  The cool thing is with Redmond’s you don’t ever have to worry about MSG or anything refined being added to their products like in other seasoning salts.

I use the fine grade when I’m adding in salt during cooking and use the kosher salt after I’ve served up my plate.  I like to taste the salt and love the texture of the kosher.

Redmond Trading Company, the maker of Real Salt, has agreed to do a giveaway along with my review.  One lucky winner will receive an Organic Seasoning Gift Box!

51yt

Is Your Salt Real?

Sign up for my giveaway with the link below:

Rafflecopter Giveaway!
(it will open in a Facebook page)

Mobile Friendly Link to giveaway:  http://bit.ly/10RJgfI

While I do love comments on my blog posts, any comment here will not count towards the giveaway, except for the required entry to post a comment (see widget).  Please make sure to use the Rafflecopter Widget linked above.

I will use Rafflecopter, powered by random.org to choose the winner, who will be announced on the blog, on my Facebook page and will receive an email.  The giveaway is open to continental U.S. and Canada residents only.  This giveaway begins on Tuesday, September 10, 2013 at 12:00 am eastern time, and ends at 12:00 am on Tuesday, September 17, 2013.  The winner will be announced on Tuesday, September 17th and will have 48 hours to respond.

 

 

 

Disclaimer: I was not paid to write this review and my opinions are my own.  When reviewing a product I will let you know if I purchased the item or was provided a sample from the company for review purposes.  My opinion of the products I review is for information purposes only. Giveaways done via my blog are sponsored by the product company and not by TheHippyGardener unless stated otherwise.  All personal information (name, shipping address, email, phone number) that may be given to me for the purpose of shipping a giveaway item will only be distributed to the company or representative shipping the item. TheHippyGardener will not retain any of your personal information.

28 responses to “Redmond’s Real Salt Review & Giveaway

  1. I learned that pink salt comes from pakistan! who knew!

  2. They sell a line of toothpaste?!? For sure interested in trying that!

  3. Thanks for this opportunity, I am going to check this out….

  4. Wow….just did some research on realsalt.com I had no idea that most salt sold in stores go through that much of a process to be sold. YUCK! Our family needs to switch over to the Real Salt that comes from an Ancient Sea.

  5. Yum! Real Salt! Great opportunity!

  6. I love to use sea salt in cooking and specially in baking. going to try this for sure

  7. I was most interested in the toothpaste, actually. I did not know what Xylitol was though, so I looked it up and found this: “Xylitol is a “tooth-friendly”, nonfermentable sugar alcohol.[11][12] It appears to have more dental health benefits than other polyalcohols.[13] The structure of xylitol contains a tridentate ligand, (H-C-OH)3 that can rearrange with polyvalent cations like Ca2+. This interaction allows Ca2+ to be transported through the gut wall barrier and through saliva may remineralize enamel before dental caries form.[14] on wiki.” I think our family needs to try this product!

  8. i didn’t know why this type of salt was better, but now I do. They do hardly anything to it, so it’s very pure! How cool! 🙂

  9. For the first time I tried the salt and toothpaste–they are wonderful!!

  10. Pingback: Real Salt Organic Seasoning Gift Box Giveaway - Giveaway Promote

  11. I learned that the company also makes toothpaste. Interesting.

  12. I learned the differences between refined and unrefined salt!

  13. I love all the minerals in RealSalt missing in ordinary salt.

  14. I learned that a big cause if high blood pressure is the refined food we eat and not salt.
    The refined simple carbohydrates retain more water in the blood thereby increasing blood pressure.

  15. Salt is necessary for proper brain function. The brain uses sodium to spark between brain cells.

  16. I learned some of the many different ways Redmond clay is beneficial. I didn’t know there were so many!

  17. I learned the salt comes from an ancient sea bed.

  18. I am interested in trying the toothpaste!

  19. VivianS (@AskViv)

    I had no idea a teaspoon of unrefined salt per day could help with thyroid issues!

  20. Pingback: Creating an Herbal Bodycare Business (Making a Living Naturally Series) Reviews · WWW.MY-HEALTHOCARE.COM

  21. I learned that the pinkish color comes from 60 naturally occurring trace minerals.

  22. I love REal Salt and use it regularly but I have never tried any of their seasoning mixes. Would really like to try this.

  23. I had no idea that table salt was so much different than Real Salt! Can’t wait to try!

  24. I learned that Real Salt comes from an ancient sea bed in Central Utah!

  25. i learned how processed my table salt is – yikes!

  26. Pingback: Redmond Trading Company Clay 10 oz Reviews · FOLLOW-REFERENCE.org

  27. Pingback: Creating an Herbal Bodycare Business (Making a Living Naturally Series) Reviews · WWW.BEAUTYSKI.COM

Leave a Reply

