Sport Berkey Portable Water Purifier Review & Giveaway

Berkey Water Filters
Complete Selection, Best Prices, Free US Shipping

THIS GIVEAWAY IS OVER!!!  The winner has been notified via email and have 48 hours to respond.

CONGRATULATIONS TO:                Andrea Y.

I was sent The Sport Berkey water bottle to review recently.  Normally I stay clear of plastic, but we also do a bit of hiking around and my stainless steel water bottle can just get heavy.  So I though: “Why not give it a try?” 

ABOUT THE SPORT BERKEY

The Sport Berkey Portable Water Filter is the ideal personal protection traveling companion ~ featuring the ionic absorption micro filtration system.  The theory behind this innovation is simple.  The bottle’s filter is designed to remove and/or dramatically reduce a vast array of health-threatening contaminants from questionable sources of water, including remote lakes and streams, stagnant ponds and water supplies in foreign countries where regulations may be sub-standard at best.

The Sport Berkey eliminates or reduces up to 99.9% of the following:

  • Unpleasant tastes and odors, cloudiness, silt, sediment and chlorine.
  • Volatile organic compounds
  • Toxic chemicals
  • Trihalomethanes
  • Heavy metals
  • Detergents
  • Pesticides
  • Harmful microscopic pathogens (E-coli, Cryptosporidium, Giardia and other pathogenic baceria)
  • VOC’s
  • Radon 222

Systems that are negatively affected by heavy metals are:

  • Lead – kidney and nervous system damage
  • Mercury – kidney and nervous system damage
  • Aluminum – respiratory and nervous system disorders
  • Cadmium – kidney damage
  • Chromium – liver, kidney and circulatory system disorders
  • Copper – gastro-enteric disease

The Sport Berkey Portable Water Purifier has a shelf life of 50 years.  The filter refill capacity is 640 refills from municipal or well water and 160 refills from any other source.

Before you drink out of The Sport Berkey you need to flush water through the filter by pulling down the lever, so the straw is exposed, and squeeze water through the filter & out the straw.  Repeat this flushing process twice before drinking from it.  This removes excess process dust from the filter.

MY EXPERIENCE

I was sent the generic version of the bottle, which is simply the non-labled Sport Berkey.  It’s identical in function to the regular Sport Berkey.  They say it’s primarily used for individuals, missionaries and relief organization that prefer to economize.

Here’s the bottle I received:

 

The flushing process was pretty straight forward, although my hands did get a little tired half-way through the 2nd flushing.  LOL!  Not a huge deal!!

I used this water bottle under different circumstances and found that it works quite well.  Although, I am highly sensitive to the taste of chlorine when most people I’m around can’t detect it.  I could taste a slight hint of chlorine as well as the plasticy taste that I get from using most plastic water bottles.  But neither was super strong and I can’t say it would keep me from using this product.  It’s light-weight, so it will make a good water bottle for trecking around in the woods and for long bike rides.

Over-all I think it’s a great product!

Would YOU like to own one?

Well, here’s your chance.  Simply sign up for my giveaway with the link below:

Rafflecopter Giveaway

(it will open in a Facebook page)

While I do love comments on my blog posts, any comment here will not count towards the giveaway, except for the required entry to post a comment (see widget).  Please make sure to use the Rafflecopter Widget linked above.

I will use Rafflecopter, powered by random.org to choose the winner, who will be announced on the blog, on my Facebook page and will receive an email.  The giveaway is open to continental U.S. and Canada residents only.  This giveaway begins on Saturday, August 10, 2013 at midnight and ends at 12:00 am on Saturday, August 17, 2013.  The winner will be announced on Wednesday, August 17th and will have 48 hours to respond.

GOOD LUCK!!

 

This post featured on:

Lilac’s Linky August 8 – 14

Disclaimer:  I was not paid to write this review and my opinions are my own.  When reviewing a product I will let you know if I purchased the item or was provided a sample from the company for review purposes.    My opinion of the products I review is for informational purposes only.  Giveaways done via my blog are sponsored by the product company and not by TheHippyGardener unless stated otherwise.  All personal information (name, shipping address, email, phone number) that may be given to me for the purpose of shipping a giveaway item will only be distributed to the company or representative shipping the item.  TheHippyGardener will not retain any of your personal information.

 

Berkey Water

6 responses to “Sport Berkey Portable Water Purifier Review & Giveaway

  1. I have from brita, but this one is better!!

  2. This would be great for traveling, or for an emergency bag.

  3. No I have never used a filtered water bottle before. Looks good.

  4. I have a filter water pitcher, but have never used a water bottle with a filter. This would be soooo convenient!

  5. This would be great for every day use too! Never had one with a filter.

  6. Pingback: My Homepage

Leave a Reply

