Dinner Tales ~ Chicken Pot Pie

Tonight I tried something new.  I’ve never made a pot pie of any sort and Honey has been asking for the chicken sort.  So I started perusing my cookbooks and wasn’t really impressed with what I found.  Even though I have some pretty old ones like Betty Crocker and Better Homes…I was disappointed to find that they STILL contained canned ingredients.  Really?  Come on now….

Then to my surprise ~ on a recently discovered website called Pinterest I found someone had posted Chicken Pot Pie made from scratch!!  It was actually a link to THIS website.  Although I altered the recipe just a bit to suit MY fancy.  I didn’t at all cook the chicken and vegetables as recommended.  And used my own homemade chicken broth.

I started out by boiling a whole chicken.  I added it to a large stock pot along with two cut up carrots, two celery stalks (chunky cut), 1 whole apple (sliced) and one onion (cut in half).  I boiled it all together for, well….I really don’t know how long.  A good part of the day anyway, until the chicken was soft and nearly fell apart when poked at.  Cooking is not always an exact science with me, I just go with what feels right at the time.  Once the chicken was done I took it out and set it in a bowl to cool.  While that was cooling, I let the rest of the veggies boil slowly in the water, which was now a light chicken stock. When the chicken was cool enough to pull apart I separated the meat from the rest and let the cat nibble on the bones and skin for a bit.  There really was no seasoning in the pot, so I didn’t see it as a problem for her.  Although I like feeding her raw better, she was at least getting some calcium from the bones.

Anyway…HERE is my original post on making stock.  But I must warn you my method changes over time.  I will post my next batch.  And tonight’s meal really wasn’t all about making stock, but what’s left after the recipe will be worked on some more tomorrow.

Where was I ?  Oh yes…the next thing I did was fish out the carrots, onions and celery from the stock pot and sliced them all into bite sized pieces.  Or at least tried to.  The onions and celery didn’t really cooperate, so it ended up being mushed up in the bowl more than chopped.  Which is fine with us, since we don’t really like the consistency of either.  >SHUDDERS!<  I followed most of the soupy part of the recipe pretty closely; combined the butter and onion in a pan and let it simmer for a few, then added in the seasonings.  But instead of regular ole all-purpose flour I used gluten-free baking flour, which I stirred into the sizzling mixture.  Then added all the chicken and veggies to end up with this:

I let it simmer for only a few minutes before transferring it to my Pampered Chef baking dish.  There it sat while I worked on the next step.

I also didn’t use pie crusts.  I instead used THIS recipe, from Gluten Free Cooking School’s site,  to make Light & Fluffy Gluten-Free Biscuits.  I used the recipe exactly since I’ve never really made any sort of gluten-free breads or biscuits before.  I wanted to get a feel for how it all works before I start playing around with it.  I gotta tell ya ~ grated frozen butter isn’t really that easy.  But it’s Oh So Beautiful in the end.

 

You have to make sure the butter gets distributed well through-out the flour mixture.  Here’s my tool of choice.  it cuts through the butter, breaking apart the clumps since butter likes to stick to itself.

 

After adding in the liquids for the recipe ya just plop spoon-fulls of the dough on top of the chicken mixture.  It goes in looking like this:

 

And comes out about 35 minutes later looking like this:

 

All but Z loved it.  Anthony had two large bowls of it and kept saying it was the best thing he’s ever eaten. And I have to say it was pretty gosh-darn-good!  Although we don’t think the biscuits would be very tasty on their own, ya know as biscuits ~ they were PERFECT to top this dish with.  But we also think we could be judging a little harshly, cuz cooked by themselves they may taste totally different without all the soppyness of the pot pie soaking into them.  We’ll try it one day and I’ll let ya know.

I now think I’m addicted to Pinterest!  I’ve found several other recipes that I’ve saved for later.  So watch for more Dinner Tales coming soon.

9 responses to “Dinner Tales ~ Chicken Pot Pie

  1. This looks yummy.. and great pics too.

  2. Awesome! It looks so yummy! I am going to have to try this recipe!

  3. Looks delicious 🙂

  4. Oh, wow, this looks DIVINE!!!! My 6 year old’s favorite food is chicken pot pie, but I’ve never made it myself. we usually just get the ones from marie calanders that are frozen. Though, I’ve made other things from scratch, and when they call for “canned” veggies, I just use fresh ones instead. I’ve never had a problem with that.

    This site is great, I’m totally coming back more often!!!

  5. This look amazing and I always love to find gluten free recipes…..yum- it’s that time of year for pot pies. Your finished product is beautiful! Visiting from Voiceboks! Glad to have found you!

  6. Wow! You make it look so simple in these pictures. I’ve never made chicken pot pie from scratch. I love chicken pot pie too. But unfortunately I’m the only one in the family who will eat it. This would be a wonderful meal on a crisp fall day or a cold snowy day. I may have to make some even if I’m the only one to eat it. 🙂

    Blessings,
    Rosann

  7. I love chicken pot pie, one of my favourites, my wee son loves it too

  8. That looks awesome!!!! I actually tried chuckennpot pie for the first time the other day. My boyfriend and estfrienda raves about it so I bought a Marie Calendars family pack. Maybe I gotta eat it homeade because either it’s too salty or te sauce is too murky, but I don’t care for it. And I couldn’t shake the feeling that there should be something sweet. Like maybe they shoulda have added a brush of honey to the crust. I can see it has potential to be tasty though so I’d give it a second go but not store bought. Good job!!

  9. Wow this looks delish! I’m drooling a bit. I will be trying this recipe:)

Leave a Reply

