Gypsies in this Day & Age!

I was stumbling this morning and came across this really cool page that I just had to share and talk about.  This pic really stood out to me and made me want to post about the article:

 

I think she is ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL!  Ok, so it could be the dreads, but I think she’s beautiful either way.  I also would think it so fun and educational to live as a gypsy.  Why educational?  Well, I think it would definitely teach survival skills.  These people that the article is about live this way now, and have for 25 plus years.  In gypsy wagons no less!

All the pics I’m posting are from the original post.  And just to be clear HERE is the link again.  I’m not trying to steal anyone’s glory or artwork.  I was just so impressed with the post and all the pics of these cool people that I just couldn’t resist adding a couple of their pics to my post.

I’ve been reading about gypsies for some time and collecting photos of various Vardos (that’s what their wagons are called), mainly for my own enjoyment and as a reference.  I want a Vardo one day.  I’m also very fascinated by bus conversions.  I think actual campers are cool, but there’s something really special about taking a bus of some sort (school bus, city trolly bus, etc….) and making it your own personal creation.  I think in my heart I’m a real gypsy.  Maybe it’s from moving around so often as a child.  We weren’t military or anything like that.   For some reason my dad just moved us around a lot.  When I was 16 my aunt and I added it up and I had lived in nearly 20 houses during my lifetime.  (I don’t even know what that number would be now.)  We lived on entire summer somewhere in Georgia in a little duplex.  I made a friend my age in the other half of the duplex and boy did we get into trouble together.  There was a tiny hole in the corner of the wall that my bed covered up that led right to her room and when we were on restriction from playing together we would give each other gifts through that hole.  I don’t know how many times she snuck me into her room while her mother was at work, but we got caught almost every time.

During my 5th grade year we lived in a little cinder block house on a lake in Interlarchen, Florida.  It belonged to my step-mother’s family.  Still does as far as I know.

Let’s see where else ~ Sterling, Virginia; Front Royal, Virginia; Middleburg, Florida; Keystone Heights, Florida; when I was 16 I was in Joliet, IL with my aunt (or did we live in the next town over and my school & our church was in Joliet?).  Anyway, you get the point ~ we moved a lot.  In each of these places we would move between different houses too.

It seems as an adult I’ve followed suit ~ Murphy, NC; Charlotte, NC; Jacksonville, FL; Lakeland, FL; California; and now back in Florida….Yep!  I must be a gypsy!

16 responses to “Gypsies in this Day & Age!

  1. I don’t know about being a Gypsy, but you seem free spirited. I suspect that you like to travel, love adventure, and embrace meeting all kinds of people. I backpacked through Europe when I was in college. It was the best time that I ever spent. It was fun being nomadic, but I can’t imagine living that way for a long time. I like some normalcy and routine.

    The Substantive Mom
    3Girlsblogging.com

    • Cool! I’ve known a lot of people who wanted to backpack through Europe, but never have. I bet that was amazing! I don’t know if I’d want to be moving ALL the time, but I could definitely live in a Vardo and cook on an open fire all the time and just live that close to nature. Although I live in a nice apartment right now in the city, I hate the concept of money and the way our society is set up. Not miserably so….just in an underlying sort of way. LOL! I’ve been exploring how to live without a refrigerator and on way less electricity for a while now. And I wish I lived in a bicycle friendly city. I’d love to not be reliant upon all that or a car. But for now I will be happy where I am. I guess I can’t live as a gypsy AND live on a CSA farm at the same time. But it would be fun to have a Vardo for travel every now and then. 🙂

  2. On second thoughts, a just spent a long, hot summer with my kids, and now I am on school lock down (test, homework, and too many projects). Maybe I can be a nomad! LOL!!!

    – The Substantive Mom

  3. Those pics are awesome and I think the girl is beautiful too! I think you just may be a gypsy at heart, sister! I loved story of your friend in the duplex. Who knows where the road will take you one day, but wherever it is, I’m sure it will be exciting!
    Blessings,
    ~Erin

  4. The life of a gypsy has always held some apeal to me as well, there is something very romantic about just going where the wind takes you. The pictures are amazing! Thanks for a great post!

  5. How intriguing! That picture captured my interest as well. I think I’m a gypsy at heart. I used to be a homeless street musician when I was seventeen. Sure, we were in Hawaii, which made things easier, but I learned so much during that time. Awesome post!

  6. Very interesting. You remind me so much of my bestfriend from high school… it’s scary. Is that you? 🙂

  7. SO glad to see you blogging again!

  8. I have a thing for gypsies and that lifestyle and those pictures are stunning.I have been lucky enough to see them in Romania, in Ireland, and in the UK. Their vardos are actually beautifully decorated too! Thanks for sharing.

    • Whoa! I would love to be able to go over there and see them first hand. I google “gypsies” quite often just to look at the wonderful pics. I think they are all beautiful….so natural looking. 🙂 I especially want to go to Ireland one day, being Irish myself and all. But also because all the pictures I see are breath-taking.

  9. I’m from Winter Haven!!! In ohio now. But, I was born and raised in Winter Haven. Thanks for stopping by my blog, you gypsy, you. And you’re right. The girl in the picture is absolutely gorgeous!

  10. Amazing pictures! You have moved a lot, but you seem to like it. Though I’m guessing there were some hard times too. I get antsy when I’m in one place too long, but we’ll probably be where we’re at for a while.

  11. I really like the idea of gypsies. Not sure if I could live in that lifestyle or not, but it is fun to think about. The pictures are amazing. I moved around too but we always lived in houses or mobile homes.

Leave a Reply

