A little catch-up.

Earlier this year we decided that we both would enjoy having a cat.  So I started asking around for a specific sort of cat.  I wanted it to be black & white, with long hair and female.  Not really expecting for it to happen quickly I was surprised a week later to be getting a female, in-tact, Persian cat.  What we thought was a rescue cat.

 

We emailed back and forth with tons of questions about her and when we were all satisfied that it could be a good fit, we set a time to meet for us to take her.  She came with the name Daisy Mae.  Which, after much thought, we changed to Audrey Bella Gabrielle.

Audrey also turned out to be pregnant.  When I contacted her previous owner about this she informed us that Audrey is registered and that the Sire would either be her Blue Persian or her Munchkin.  Remembering my Very Best Friend, Beverly, has a Munchkin and he is completely cool ~ I got excited!

Fast-forward to the big day – it happened at 5:00 in the morning.  I heard a kitten cry and jumped out of bed to keep an eye on things.  She had one black & white kitten.

We worked out a deal for Audrey’s papers, since we didn’t pay for her.  The one kitten is fee for Audrey’s registrations signed over to us.  The above pic is of the kitten at two (2) days old.  It didn’t take long for us to realize that he had short legs.  THAT MEANT MUNCHKIN!!!  More specifically a Persian/Munchkin mix is a relatively new breed called Napoleon.  We decided on the name of Frodo.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The reason this is on my mind to blog right now is because Monday morning at 5:00 Frodo will be 10 weeks old.  And tomorrow he will be leaving us to go to his new home.

 

He’s really grown into quite the little man and I am really going to miss him.  First things every morning he runs after me and chases me feet all around the kitchen.  When he catches me he is so gentle and rarely uses any claws.  He’ll just slap my foot a little and jump around like a little fool.  When he runs he reminds me sometimes of a ferret and sometimes he looks just like a bunny hopping around the apartment.  But don’t touch his head or he’ll give you the stink-eye!  He does not like to be pet at all.  He actually growls at us if we try to hold him for too long.  He’s not afraid of us in any way otherwise; he greets us when we come in the door, meows at our bedroom door for us to get up in the mornings, sits at our feet….You know, other normal cat stuff.  Just hands off!

 

I have to say that he’s the coolest kitten I’ve ever had or been around and it’s going to seem real quiet over here after he leaves.  That is….until the girls come over again.

But this has inspired me to look into breeding Napoleons.  Audrey isn’t a quality breeder for Persians, but I’m told she’s a great candidate for a Napoleon breeding program.  Before I call myself a breeder I will be learning all there is to know (or as much as I can get my paws on) about breeding cats and specifically both Persian, Munchkin and Napoleon breeds.  I don’t want to be a “back-yard” breeder.  It will be done right.

 

How does “HippyCats” sound for a cattery name?  Winking smile

4 responses to “A little catch-up.

  1. Great pics of the kitties….I know how hard it is to get good pictures of cats. Frodo is a handsome guy. I love him without even having met him.
    You know I got a big kick out of Audrey’s hairdo when I met her…you had shaved her to get rid of her matted hair. She’s beautiful and lucky to be a member of our family.

    • Thanks! Most of the pics I get of either of them are crystal clear except for the blurry fluff in the middle that is supposed to be the cat. It was by pure luck (skill maybe?) that I got the few good ones I did. Today was a sad day having to say good-bye to little Frodo, but I know he’s in good hands. And Audrey is in MUCH better shape now than when we first brought her home. Though I’m still trying to get a grip on the fleas that she brought with her. Nasty little buggers, they are!

  2. OMG that is extraordinary! I love your work! Guess I am not as up-to-date as your usual subscribers! I swear I have fallen in love with this blog… Fabulous writing! You’re an outstanding and talented person, keep up the individuality 🙂

Leave a Reply

