Another Sewing Machine

This one is no longer mine.  I sold it to a dear friend, Karen, at our first garage sale.  But that was also before I knew anything about sewing machines.  She’s asked me a million questions (well…maybe not a million) since then and now that I have a basic, VERY basic mind you, idea of how a machine works I could at least clean it up for her.

She told me the needle was rusted in place and when they went to plug it in one of the prongs fell off.  So we picked it up yesterday so I could take a look at it.  Both my Dad and Papa were pretty good about things like splicing cords and working on things.  So I’m not really afraid to at least check things out and Google answers to see if I can fix things.

Well, after giving her a good cleaning and checking out the cord I can’t figure out what Karen was talking about.  All the prongs seem to be intact and I couldn’t make any of them come out of the plug.  And there is no needle or rust where the needle belongs.

It’s a Domestic brand machine.  Looks straight out of the 50’s to me.  But I’m no expert.  I really like the older all metal models as opposed to the newer all plastic ones.  This beauty is super heavy too, as are all the old ones.  She appears to do a lot of stuff too.  A bit more than Marisa’s does.  I offered to return the money Karen paid me for it since she just had it sitting out for the garage sale.  And she has no clue what to do with it.  She says this is her first sewing machine and has never even used one.  Kind of funny for a woman of my Grandma’s age.

The only problem I can see is a little rust on the bobbin plate.  That’s not really good since your fabric slides over this area.  But this is an easy replacement.

Here’s the bits and pieces she has.  She’s a low shank just like our other two machines.  Which will make using different feet easier since no new ones would need to be purchased.

The needle plate seems to be not quite right, but it looks like it’s still usable like this with the bobbin plate put on.

Features:

 IMG_1424IMG_1423

She even holds TWO spools of thread.  Neither our Grand Duchess or Marisa’s Montgomery Ward machines does that.

That’s all for now.  I hope I haven’t bored you too terribly with all this sewing machine talk.  I’m just finding them extremely fascinating lately.

Digg This


Leave a Reply

