Composting

Speaking of composting.  I was out in the yard snooping about and look what I found growing right out of the compost pile:

Let’s get a closer looks at this.

I have no idea what it could be.  Possibly pumpkin?  Possibly squash of some sort?   There’s no tellin’ really.  Everything we’ve eaten as gone into the pile, seeds and all.

Isn’t that a nice looking pile of compost?  We made that and I’ll tell you ~ that is a pile of pure dirt at this point.

Other happenings around the HippyHomestead.  Some pretty large red onions.

Rogue Fennel.  This is a surprise from last years fennel spreading it’s seed lovin’.

Jasmine.  I wish I could blog the smell for you so you could experience this.  I now smell it through our bedroom window in the wee hours of the morning.

 

I failed to get a good pic when the Honeysuckle was in full bloom.  But here’s some blooms that are left.  They taste as yummy as they did when I was a kid.

My favorite back porch friend.

The garden view from our kitchen window.  It’s not as pretty as it was last year since I’ve pretty much abandoned the back yard, except for the onions.  I don’t want to be in love with my back yard anymore since we won’t be here much longer.  Can you blame me?

Beatrix looks about like this most of the day.  I guess that’s what happens when you’re a 15 year old cat.

Upcoming Project ~ curtain set for the outside pergola.  I want to get ready for the need for shade in the desert.  I need to look around for ideas and hemp canvas.  We’re going old school up in here with the hemp.  Check back for details.

Technorati Tags: ,,

tweetmeme_source = ‘TheHippyGardener’;


Leave a Reply

