Finished Sewing Project #1 ~ Gardening/Doula Apron

Well, I actually started TWO projects this morning.  I started the purse lining and here’s how it went:

I got it all cut out and pinned, ready for sewing.

IMG_1281

Got it all sewed together and turned right side out.

IMG_1282

Finished off the seam (quite proud of myself about this, it was my first attempt at this):

IMG_1284

All that work only to find that I made it too small.  I will start over again and make some other adjustments to it.  But I need to think further about that, so that is for another day.  I think I’ll even add pockets.  I don’t think it’s too bad considering I’m having to make my own pattern from a crocheted hat/bag.

BUT….

The cool thing that I finished a few minutes ago is the gardening/doula apron.  Check this out.  All cut out and pinned together.

IMG_1285

I didn’t take any other pics of the process.  But here’s what I ended up with.

IMG_1286

Let’s take a closer look at those stitches:

IMG_1288

WOOHOO!!!!  Beautiful!!!  Even if I do say so myself.  Not too shabby anyway for a very first project.  I only made two small mistakes that won’t even have any affect on it’s use.

I missed a little fabric when I was stitching in the first step.  Or it could have been something I did when I was trimming off excess fabric.

IMG_1287

And….

On the back side I missed a little section of the ribbon when I was sewing it on.  But in my defense, I couldn’t see the back side too well (LOL).  And again, this shouldn’t be a problem.

IMG_1290

What do’ya think?  Comments, please!!!  I’m quite pleased with myself.  :~)  And I have enough fabric left over for, maybe, another one.

IMG_1291

 

5 responses to “Finished Sewing Project #1 ~ Gardening/Doula Apron

  1. AWESOME WORK AND I LOVE HOW YOU DO IT YOURSELF CONGRATS ON YOUR WORK KEEP IT GOING AND YOU WILL GO FURTHER..

  2. Nice Work! I’m impressed…I haven’t sewn in years…except maybe a seam. You go girl! I might have to try that little doula-too cute!

  3. Very cool. And it’s always a good idea to get a model for the clothes you make…so your covered there too.

  4. I’m a new doula. Just waiting for the call to go to my first birth. I’ve made my own rebozo, backpack and rice bags. Was thinking about making an apron. It’s a few years later. Do you use yours? How has it worked for you? Would you do anything different?

Leave a Reply

