Trip to the Chuck’s Natural Foods

 

Here’s the dried herbs I recently purchased: Dandelion root and leaf, Yellowdock root, Valerian Root, Nettle Leaf, Burdock Root, Hibiscus Flowers.  More on them individually as I start actually using them.  First to come ~ Burdock Root Tincture.

IMG_1288

Making tinctures are very simple.  The longest part of the process is letting it sit for 6 weeks before it’s ready for use.

Ingredients:

Burdock Root (chopped)

IMG_1282 

Grain alcohol.  I needed at least 100 proof.  Most people use Vodka, but I’m afraid of it since I’m allergic.  So we got Everclear.

IMG_1289 

Put all of the Burdock Root into a small jar.  It should be more full than this, but I gotta work with what I got.

IMG_1290

Filled the jar up to the top.  :~)

IMG_1291

Finally, label the jar with the date combined and the date it will be finished.

IMG_1292

That’s all there is to it.  The waiting begins now.  How about a little more about Burdock Root?

Burdock is good for acne, among other things.  Also; root tea used as a “blood purifier”; diuretic, stimulates bile secretion, digestion and sweating.  Liver & kidney ailments. 

High in inulin which is traditionally used for diabetes.  Anti-bacterial.

Where found: waste places

I also combined Valerian tincture; good for if you have trouble sleeping.  No need for sleeping pills anymore.  Ginger Root tincture; ginger root is wonderful for warming the blood on cold days.  It’s helpful during cold & flu season as well.

I’m thinking of making some Passion Flower tincture.  It’s good if you have high blood pressure, which none of US have so I haven’t decided if I will make it yet.  Maybe I’ll save it for making upon request from others.

Leave a Reply

