Garden Happenings

We’ve had so much wonderful rain down here in Central Florida the last couple of weeks.  It makes me so happy.  I don’t care how much it rains, I’ve always loved it.  That’s been one of my favorite, if not the only favorite, things about Florida.  Well, that and the mild winters.  I’ve been strolling through the garden in between storms checking out how much everything has grown in just a matter of a week or two.  Here’s the latest pics.  Enjoy…

IMG_0639

I’ve heard tell that Cilantro is hard to grow.  I don’t think anybody has told ours though.  It seems to be thriving quite well in this little nursery pot that it came in.

IMG_0640

Common Chives.

 

IMG_0642

 

 

Someone apparently dropped some garlic in the tomato planter.  I’ve asked the hubby and my son, neither claim to have done it.  I don’t know, but I’m not complaining.  It’s taking root and has some growth coming out of it.   mmmmmm……garlic….

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_0662

A Passion Flower almost all the way open.  For some reason I just today realized that they smell heavenly!  And we already have pretty little orange butterflies fluttering around it.  This is the host plant to the caterpillars.  Before long there will be no leaves left on this plant.  But it’s worth it to have the orange fairies flying about.  Here’s the full plant:

IMG_0646

It will get much bigger than this.  We also have them sprouting up at random places in the yard.  I’ll be moving those to better locations soon.  If you plant them in the shade they attract a different type of butterfly than they do if growing in full sun.  I’ll update this post when I look up the correct butterflies.

IMG_0644

And apparently, Mom, I DO have Hoya growing.  I got it from Aunt Sandy.  I just didn’t realize what I had at the time.  I don’t have enough to take a cutting from just yet, but I will share some with you soon.   :~)

IMG_0657

Sir Froggy-ness chillin’ out in a we shrub.

Leave a Reply

