My Mystery Succulent-Type Plant

I bought this when I lived in Colorado.  And I have no idea what it is.  I bought a cactus/succulent book years ago and I don’t see anything in it that looks quite like this.

IMG_0548

As you can see it has long thorns on it.  The leaves are just starting to come out again.  They get pretty big.  I’ll add pics of the leaves when they come all the way out.  But if anyone knows what this could be please let me know.

IMG_0546

Digg This
3 responses to “My Mystery Succulent-Type Plant

  1. Looks like Crown of Thorns to me. My mother-in-law has one I gave her several years ago. (I kilt mine). The flowers are smallish and dark pink and grow in threes.

  2. thehippygardener

    Here pics of it early last year when it was in bloom and the leaves were a bit bigger: https://thehippygardener.wordpress.com/2008/06/30/finally-happy/

    The flowers opened one at a time and were mostly white with a little pink on them. Last year was the first time I’d seen it flower since I was in Colorado. In this humid climate in the south it will barely keep it’s leaves on. Its really strange: I give it a small drink of water and it will just throw off all it’s leaves before they even get the chance to turn yellow or anything. Green leaves just falling off the plant. The only thing I have done to it is mist it every now and then. It seems to like that. But it’s clearly a desert loving plant of some sort. Is that what the crown of thorns does?

  3. thehippygardener

    I just looked it up. I didn’t think I would at this hour but I just couldn’t let it go. Since I had a name of something to look up I HAD to look it up. Here’s what I found for Crown of Thorns plant: http://www.thegardenhelper.com/pixpg/crownofthornspix.html. This is definitely not my plant.

    But I REALLY appreciate that you took the time to comment. Thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

