How To Start a Cutting

For anyone just starting out I thought I would document my latest task here.  When I got my Teak Potting Center I mentioned that I also left with plant cuttings.  I’m going to show you the process I use to get them ready to take root.

First I have my cuttings.  The one pictures here is called PORTULACARIA AFRA a.k.a. Elephant Plant.  It’s a relative of the the Jade plant (Crassula).

IMG_0527

I also have what Debb called a Devil’s Backbone.  Also known as Pedilanthus tithymaloides (L.) Poiteau cv. ‘Variegatus’

IMG_0529

Then I filled my pot with soil and watered it.  The reason I went ahead and watered is because with these non-edible plants I dipped them in Rooting Hormone.  I didn’t want to put the cuttings in the dirt then rinse all of that off by watering it in.

IMG_0530

The potting soil I found at Lowe’s says it’s organic.  And I like the bit it says on the bag about helping the rainforest.  I will be looking into this brand a bit further.  A first glance through the google search didn’t give me much promising information.

IMG_0534

The cuttings have been sitting in a large mug of water for a couple of days.  She said they were dry and could probably use some water.  So I decided to let them soak up some water (at Debb’s suggestion) to give them a good drink before going into the soil.

I don’t know if you can tell, but I have the cuttings cut off at a slant.  I’ve just always been in the habit of doing this.  I think it comes from cutting fresh flowers to bring inside when I was a kid.  I was always told that they soak up the water better.

IMG_0531

I then dipped the ends in the Rooting Hormone as you can see here.

IMG_0532

And for some reason I didn’t snap any pics when I had both hands full putting the cuttings in the soil.  But I used this gardening too to poke holes in the soil to gently put the tips in the dirt so not to disturb the hormone too much.

IMG_0540

And finally, the newly planted cuttings.

The Pedilanthus tithymaloides (L.) Poiteau cv. ‘Variegatus’

IMG_0533

And the PORTULACARIA AFRA

IMG_0536

If I left anything out or you have any questions, please feel free to comment or email me.

Leave a Reply

