Pure Indian Foods Organic, Grass-Fed Ghee Review

I’ve been clarifying the butter I buy from the grocery, into ghee, for over a year now.  The taste difference is amazing!  I’ve never tried any store-bought ghee, so when Pure Indian Foods agreed to send me a jar of their 100% organic, grass-fed ghee to sample I was super excited!  I’ve heard very good things about their products.

The first thing I did was compare theirs to my homemade ghee.  The difference if very apparent.  Theirs is much a brighter yellow and a lot less runny, as you can see below.  These both sat on my counter, for the same amount of time, at room temperature.

 

From Pure Indian Foods’s website:

“Our Grass-fed Organic Ghee is made from the milk of pastured cows, fed on fresh green grass in spring and fall only.  No GMOs, no added salt, no preservatives, no Trans Fats, no colors or dyes, no MSG, no flavor enhancers.  The one and only ingredient is milk, absolutely  nothing else added to it.”

I make my homemade ghee from a store bought, grass-fed butter.  It’s pretty good and meets our needs quite well.  Pure Indian Foods’ ghee, however, has a richer and more buttery taste.  The consistency is a bit thicker than the ghee we make, as you can see from the photo above. 

Pure Indian Foods also has a “Cultured” version of the organic, grass-fed ghee as well as virgin coconut organic ghee.

The good thing about ghee is that it has a higher smoke point than plain old butter, which makes it a better option for frying and sautéing.  I used this jar of ghee to sauté veggies, for both fried and scrambled eggs, on toast and my Honey used it to make homemade popcorn.  I like it on toast that I make on my cast iron griddle.  We don’t have a toaster, but if I did this is still my most favorite way to make toast.

Another benefit to ghee is that the milk solids are removed in the rendering process.  This means that if you have a dairy allergy or sensitivity, you can probably tolerate eating ghee.  But I cannot claim to be a nutritionist or dietician, so each individual needs to test this for themselves.  This is just from accounts I have heard and read about ~ most are able to consume ghee.

Through Pure Indian Foods you can also buy a variety of spiced ghee, cooking oils, spices and grocery items.

I have to say, their ghee is slightly pricey for our small budget, but well worth the cost.  We will be splurging on a jar of their ghee from time to time, as well as trying out some of their other fine looking products.

You can follow Pure Indian Foods on Facebook, Twitter, or keep an eye on their blog for updates, recipes and the latest news.

As a very special celebration for reaching 300 “likers” on my Facebook page, I am running a giveaway for one fan to have a chance at winning a 14 oz jar of Pure Indian Foods Grass-Fed Organic Ghee!  So head over to my Facebook Page and look for the giveaway box to sign up.

 

Disclaimer: I was not paid to write this review and my opinions are my own. When reviewing a product I will let you know if I purchased the item or was provided a sample from the company for review purposes. My opinion of the products I review is for information purposes only. Giveaways done via my blog are sponsored by the product company and not by TheHippyGardener unless stated otherwise. All personal information (name, shipping address, email, phone number) that may be given to me for the purpose of shipping a giveaway item will only be distributed to the company or representative shipping the item. TheHippyGardener will not retain any of your personal information.

2 responses to “Pure Indian Foods Organic, Grass-Fed Ghee Review

  1. I love ghee and I’m out of mine. Hope I win!!!!!! :) :)

  2. Pingback: Pure Indian Foods 100% Organic, Grass-Fed GheeGiveaway - Giveaway Promote

Leave a Reply

