Fermented Foods: Yogurt

Did you know you can make yogurt on your counter-top without heating anything?  That’s right, they culture at room temperature!  There are certain yogurt starter strains that do not require you to heat the milk at all.  Simply add the milk and starter culture to a jar, cover with a cloth, secure with a rubber band and let it sit out on your counter for 24 hours.

Click her to Make Yogurt at Home

 

You may think it sounds easier to just go to the grocery to buy your ingredients, but believe me it’s not.  I’ve made homemade yogurt in the past with just a container of yogurt and a gallon of milk, but it always required me to use either the stove-top, a crock pot or a specialty yogurt maker and it was a long, drawn out procedure.

This time I purchased the Villi Yogurt Starter culture from Cultures for Health.  This is not the only room temperature starter, but it’s the one that most people seem to prefer.  It has a mild, tangy taste.  If you’re not so used to eating plain yogurt, this is definitely a good one to start with.

The best part about this is ~ you only need to purchase a starter once.  After your first batch you simply use one (1) Tbs of starter per cup of milk to equal the amount you want to make in total.  Mix them and do the whole process all over again.  You really can’t screw this up, I promise!

So click on the pic above to check them out!!

 

This post is featured on:

From the Farm Blog Hop #40
Homestead Blog Hop #118

7 responses to “Fermented Foods: Yogurt

  1. Beverly Dittmer

    Can you make Greek yogurt like this? This looks so yummy and fun. Something I’ve been wanting to try.

  2. I love yogurt! Had no idea it’s so easy to make at home. Will look into getting a starter. Especially since Greek yogurt seems so expensive

  3. Oh nice! I used to make yogurt a while ago, and yep, long drawn out process. I’ve since tried the crock pot version, and it has never worked for me. This sounds like a good option.

    Thanks for sharing your blog with me. I’d like to invite you to share this post and up to two others at our From the Farm Blog Hop, which is live right now. Your style of blog posts would fit right in with the wonderful posts that are shared!

    From the Farm Blog Hop

    Hope to see you there!
    ~Kristi@Let This Mind Be in You

    • Very cool!! Thanks for visiting! I’m glad my post is of interest. This style of yogurt is a little thinner than some are used to, but if you strain it, it becomes thicker. Plus you also end up with some wonderful whey doing that as well.

      I’ve seen a few other blogs participating in blog hops. I’d love to take part. I’ll head over now to figure out how to do it exactly. ;)

  4. Hi Heather, I’m wondering if this works well with almond or coconut milk, and if I strain it, would the drippings be whey as well, or is that only with animal milk?

    • You know, that’s an excellent question. I’ve only ever bought coconut milk once or twice ever, and that was for specific recipes, and I’ve never had almond milk. I’ll make a note to get both to experiment with and I’ll do some searching for info on this. I would think that if the cultures make yogurt form these alt milks then the whey would be live, but I can’t really say for sure ~ that’s just guessing off the top of my head.

Leave a Reply

