Fermented Foods: Hummus

Hummus.  Wonderful, creamy garlicy hummus.  At least that’s how I like to eat it.  The more garlic the better.  This happens to be one of my favorite snack foods.

I used to be a big fan of a particular brand in the stores in a red container.  Well, I DO still like it.  But I’ve been looking for a recipe to make it at home.  That’s got to be healthier in every way, right?

My past experiences with recipes left much to be desired.  They were bland, not the right consistency or just didn’t taste right.  So I gave up for quite a number of years and just settled for my favorite store brand.  But,  few weeks ago I started my hunt back up for the perfect recipe.  It just made sense with all the changes we’ve been doing in our kitchen lately.  What I found was, before I was missing out on the tahini.  How could this happen?  Recipes without tahini?  Even my fav store brand has it.  So out of all the recipes I was finding recently I combined some and came up with, what I think, is the best hummus I’ve ever had.  AND with the addition of whey it’s become a new addition to our list of fermented foods we are regularly consuming now. 

mmmmm…..all those wonderful beneficial bacteria that thrive in fermented foods.  As you can see in the pic below, we gobbled it up!

Ingredients:

2 cups chickpeas
1/3 cup Tahini
Juice from 2 lemons
4-5 garlic cloves, minced (depending on the size or your taste)
1 tsp. Sea Salt
3-4 Tbs. Olive Oil
6 Tbs. Whey

Directions:

1.  Puree Tahini and lemon juice in food processor first.  This helps to get a creamier texture for some reason.

2. With the food processor still going, add all the other ingredients slowly, in the order listed in the ingredient list.  You can add more or less of any of the liquids to reach a consistency or taste you prefer.

3.  Put in jar and seal with lid or an airlock (I use a Pickl-It).  Leave out at room temperature for 2 to 3 days.  If your house is quite warm it might not take this long.  Will keep in the fridge for a few weeks.

You can substitute any flavoring you with for the garlic.  I just happen to be a garlic fiend and feel like it belongs in everything.  Well……except chili.  I had a bad experience with it in a chili recipe and now I don’t want it anywhere near my chili.  LOL!

 

This post is part of:

From the Farm Blog Hop #40
Traditional Tuesday’s Nutritious and Delicious Blog Carnival

4 responses to “Fermented Foods: Hummus

  1. I cannot wait to try this! Been craving this since I read your post. The only question is the whey… Any suggestions where to get it? Or do you make your own?

    • I make my own whey. I allow yogurt to sit in a colander lined with 2 layers of 90 count cheesecloth over-night. Whey is also a by-product of making cheese, so I had some left over from when I made some cream cheese recently as well.

      • Nice! Tried the recipe without the whey and it turned out delicious! Will shoot for the whey next time, thank you for the tips.

        • Fermenting it with the whey gives it the added benefit of being good for your “guts” like yorgurt or kefir. But certainly it’s still tasty without that step. :)

Leave a Reply

