Whipped Shea Butter Lotion

I have ridiculously dry skin, which I’m hoping to fix from the inside with all the fermented foods (more on those coming very soon) I’m working on incorporating into our lives.  But until then I need some help on the outside.

I was recently digging through my stuff ~ well…..I was cleaning out and re-organizing our storage room ~ and found some skin care ingredient items I had bought a while back.  So I decided this morning to look up what to do with them.

About the Ingredients I used:

Shea Butter is the plant fat from the nuts of the African Karite tree.  It contains allantoin and vitamins A & E.  It is a strong moisturizer and provides skin care protection partly against UV radiation, is anti-inflammatory, anti-aging and has soothing properties to heal minor wounds & irritated skin.

According to sheabutterguide.com is helps with the following skin problems:

* eczema
* dermatitis
* stretch marks
* dry skin and hair
* insect bites
* psoriasis
* acne
* cracked skin
* itchy skin
* muscle fatigue and tension
* rheumatism
* arthritis
* sunburns
* skin allergies and rashes
* scars and dark spots
* skin blemishes
* wrinkles

Collagen is the main structural protein found in connective tissue.  It can be used to alleviate dry, flaky skin.  Along with keratin, it’s what gives skin it’s strength, waterproofing and elasticity.  A loss of collagen is a cause of wrinkles.

Lanolin Oil is a natural grease derived from wool and is used to help heal chapped skin with it’s softening and moisturizing properties.  It’s used as an emollient, conditioner and moisturizer.

Olive Oil is similar to avocado oil in it’s healthy fat content.  It helps to plump and moisturize the skin with its combination vitamin E and vitamin A.

Lavender Essential Oil, which just so happens to be my favorite, is a great all-purpose oil to choose.  It’s good for all skin types: dry, oily, combination, sensative.  It’s nearly “anti” everything: anti-biotic, anti-septic, anti-viral and anti-fungal.

I came up with this Whipped Shea Butter Lotion recipe from a combination of a plain recipe I found here and reading about the ingredients I have on hand.

8 ounces Shea Butter
1/2 ounce Collagen
3/4 ounce Lanolin Oil
4 Tbs Base Oil (I used Olive Oil)
20-40 drops Essential Oil (I used Lavender)

Directions:

1.  Put shea butter in a bowl and smash/mix with a fork.

2.  Add the base oil, collagen and lanolin oil and smash/mix up a tad to incorporate.

3.  With an electric mixer, mix on high for approximately 5 minutes.

4.  Add in your essential oil and mix on high for just a few minutes more to blend well.  You’ll notice with the whipping of it you have a much greater volume than what you started with.

Simple as that ~ put into a jar and close tight.  Can be stored for quite a while, couple of years in fact, in a dark place at room temperature.  Use as you would any lotion.

My 8 ounces turned out to be almost 1 1/2 pint jars worth in the end.

If your skin is not as dry as mine you could use less base oil or a different variety, such as Sunflower oil, Grapeseed oil or the like.  Sweet Almond oil is very nice!  It’s best to use a cold-pressed or expeller-pressed oil and unrefined as no solvents would have been used in the making of it.

8 responses to “Whipped Shea Butter Lotion

  1. Welp, just applied some after my shower and let me tell you ~ this stuff feels light & fluffy when scooping it out of the jar, but it is rich and heavy to apply. Super dry skin should LOVE this stuff. Next I’ll try making a lighter version. I’m thinking it might be the additives I put in. But then again they didn’t making the oil I use on my face (see Oil Cleansing Method post) heavy. Hrmm….

  2. Beverly Dittmer

    Very nice. I think your skin WILL like this. And I think you may have already seen some improvement from your healthy diet.

  3. This recipe looks great! Thanks for posting!
    Can you tell me what form the collagen is? Is it powder? Oil? Serum? Where do you get it? I can find everything else. Thanks!

  4. The link didn’t show up on my end. Can you please try again?

Leave a Reply

